Skip to content

The Library will open at 12:00 PM on Saturday, September 30 due to the Homecoming Parade. We apologize for any inconvenience. 

Today's Hours: 9 AM – 9 PM

Board of Trustees

Library trustees are residents of the Plainfield Area Public Library District who are elected to serve four-year terms of office. Trustees serve without compensation and are the official policy-making body of the Library. Get in touch with our Board anytime by sending an email to:

Carl F. Gilmore
Board President
Committees: Serves on all committees as ex-officio

Election Year: 2012
Current Term Expires: 2027

Plainfield Public Library District Trust Lisa Schmidt

Lisa Schmidt

Board Vice President
Committees: Buildings & Grounds (Chair), Finance

Election Year: 2015
Current Term Expires: 2025

Plainfield Public Library District Trustee Vicki Knight

Vicki M. Knight

Board Secretary
Committees: Buildings & Grounds, Personnel

Election Year: 2013
Current Term Expires: 2025

Erika Grotto

Board Treasurer
Committees: Finance (Chair)

Election Year: 2020
Current Term Expires: 2025

Zachary Crowner

Committees: Buildings & Grounds

Election Year: 2023
Current Term Expires: 2027

Alicia Malec

Committees: Personnel (Chair)

Election Year: 2020
Current Term Expires: 2027

Lauren Las
Committees: Finance

Election Year: 2023
Current Term Expires: 2025


Sharon D. Kinley
Trustee Emerita
Years of Service: 2001 to 2019

Board President: 2005 to 2015

Dr. Pat L. Miller
Trustee Emerita
Years of Service: 2003 to 2020

Board Vice-President: 2009 to 2012
Board Treasurer: 2015 to 2020


The Board of Trustees generally meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Small Meeting Room located on the upper level of the Library. 

FY2023 (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023) meetings    
FY2024 (July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024) meetings     

The public is encouraged to attend these meetings. Anyone who would like to address the Board during the Public Comment portion of a regular board meeting may sign in on the sign-in sheet provided. Each member of the public shall have a maximum of five (5) minutes to address the Board. A maximum of thirty minutes per regular Board meeting is allotted to Public Comment. The Board will not enter into two-way communication with members of the public and will take public comments under advisement.

Meeting agendas and minutes, as well as other public documents, can be found in the Transparency Dashboard.


Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Plainfield Area Public Library

Install Plainfield Public Library District

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”

Accessibility Toolbar